Importing a Wordpress blog from GoDaddy to DH

Hi all,

I have just switched my hosting to DH from Godaddy and am trying to import my Wordpress blog and related mySQL database. I have all the WP files on my new DH server account now, but have no idea how to go about exporting the mySQL database from Godaddy to DH.

My questions are in short:

1. how do I export my mySQL database from Godaddy?
  2. how do I import this existing mySQL database into DH?

Thanks in advance for anyone who can offer some help!!!

There are a couple of ways you do the export from GoD*ddy and the import into DH. Which way is best or easiest depends upon your comfort level with nix, mysql, and what tools/access you have on Godddy.

Do you have access to PhpMyAdmin on Godddy, or access to the shell? Is there an export function from the GoDddy control panel (I have no experience with GoD*addy)?

You might also find some help/idea on how to proceed from the DH Wiki article on Migrating MySQL.

–rlparker

–rlparker

Hi rlparker, thanks for your reply!

I ran the export function in Godaddy control panel and all it gave me was this:

– phpMyAdmin SQL Dump
– version 2.7.0-pl2
http://www.phpmyadmin.net

– Host: 10.8.6.122
– Generation Time: May 03, 2007 at 01:13 AM
– Server version: 4.0.27
– PHP Version: 4.4.4

– Database: mavblog

CREATE DATABASE mavblog;
USE mavblog;

I am not very familiar with *nix or mysql, and I have no idea what to do with the ‘exported’ information shown above.

Also, on the DH Manage MySQL page, I can’t seem to find an ‘import’ function; do I need to create another database?

Hi! So it looks like you now have an “exported” version of your data from GoD*ddy.

What you will need to do is to import this database into a DH database. This may not be your only issue, however, as I don’t know how you installed the WP application files in your new DH webspace. At the very least, those files will need to be modified to use a DH hosted database.