I'm a Beginner, so I Guess I'm in the Right Place

i have a Joomla-proficient friend who has offered to help me put up a template for a Joomla-centric online forum/ bulletin board.

he recommended Dreamhost.

Question #1
is the format we see here the “default forum software” for Dreamhost ? i understand that there is some PHP and SQL support.

Question #2
if i buy Vbulletin, how does it load ? is it like installing most pieces of software with some sysadmin and file permissions thrown in ?

the initial template we’re going to use has 2-5 categories with approx. 4 sub-categories in each category, just as a template.

i would like to be able to use a “full-featured” software that allows pictures, signatures, emoticons, etc.

i don’t see those here. i’m not sure if that means the bulletin board software that comes with a Dreamhost account (is some basic BB S/W included in the price of purchase, the $280 for 3 years option, for example ?)

thanks a lot for any replies.

[quote]is the format we see here the “default forum software” for Dreamhost ? i understand that there is some PHP and SQL support.
[/quote]
The default forum software for Dreamhost is PHPBB. It is free for DH users. You can simply install it from One-Click install. The installation is very simple. Just select your option from one-click and follow the instruction.

If you want to know more one-click, you can refer to this article.
http://wiki.dreamhost.com/One_Click_Installs
If you want to know more about PHPBB, you can go to PHPBB’s official website
http://www.phpbb.com

I did not use Vbulletin. But I guess it works similarly with PHPBB. If so, the installation package should provides all features. The installation of Vbulletin should not be very difficult. It should be something like:

1. download the open source
  2. upload the open source to yourdomain
  3. create a database before you start installation