I need a mentor

I need a LOT of help. I’m basically begging for an e-buddy here who won’t mind me frequently pestering them on AIM or ICQ.

I’m sorry to burden the community, but when I was last on the development side of a website Kurt Cobain was still alive. Not really but you get the idea.

I’m drowning in FAQs and to be brutally honest the Wiki is fairly useless to complete beginners right now. In a couple of weeks or months I’ll put together something really basic for people like myself who are coming from hosting where wizards do everything for you.

I’ve got my fingers crossed that it isn’t me and the one-click for WordPress isn’t working, since I’ve not received the email it says is coming, but I think it’s more likely I’m even failing at that.

Thanks, and sorry.

Cyllenian on AIM or
269684703 on ICQ

Edit:
It looks like hostnames aren’t being created tonight?
No matter what I do, Net2FTP tells me “Invalid Login.”

Fasruith,

There is nothing wrong with needing a lot of help. We were all there once ourselves. The main problem for me, and I suspect others with your request, is that AIM, ICQ, and other “one to one” type support sessions result, at best, in one person being helped by the investment of my time.

On a forum, the number of people that benefit from the efforts of those who try to provide help and answer questions is much greater, and that allows others to join in the process and help others themselves as they learn.

I do “one to one” help with my clients, but I restrict my “pro bono” help to “one to many” mechanisms in communities that I care about, such as this forum. You won’t “burden the community” as long as you try to “Ask Questions The Smart Way”, and others in the forum can benefit from “lurking” ion the thread in addition to more knowledgable users making their own contribution.