I know theres a better way to PHP/MySql this

design

Hi. I was hoping I could get some help. I’m not very good with PHP or MySql, and I’m self taught, so my scripts are very ugly. This is my first time making a database driven website. If you read this snippet you’ll understand whats going on and what I’m trying to do. I know that I shouldnt be using a php switch: it’s not OOP. I just don’t know how to cross that gap.

<?php // $limit="20"; // Define them here? switch ($by) { case ("band"): $sql = "Select List.name, // all of this should be variable, but I can't make variables work here List.band, List.disk, List.cost, List.shipping, List.note From List Where List.cost <> 'null' // also want this to be user variable Order By // all of it should be vars... List.band Desc, Limit 20 // but don't know how. " ; $result = mysql_query($sql); if (!$result) { echo 'Band query failed, exiting.'; exit; } echo "Band order."; echo "\n"; echo <<<END END; break; case ("cost"): $sql = "Select require 'axe.php' // contains connect() index <?php ini_set('error_reporting', E_ALL); // connect() function connects us to the default database automagically. connect(); // supposed to list all data on the active table $by = ('band'); // using the switch while ($line = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC)) { // filling rows and columns... echo "\t\n"; foreach ($line as $col_value) { echo "\t\t\n"; } echo "\t\n"; } // filled. echo "
Name Band Disk Cost Shipping Notes
$col_value
\n"; mysql_free_result($result); // something to do with performance // mysql_close($link); ?>

And there it is. The closest I can get to what I need without breaking everything is: