I know nothing, how to I make it so you can view?

I am extremely new at this, so please be kind:)

I have created a site, named my first page index.html and index.htm just to be sure, uploaded the site to my website server/directory(I think that is where I’ve uploaded it) and all that shows up when going to the site is parent directory. How do I make it so it will view as an actual site?

Any help is really appreciated. And if possible, make it so simple even an idiot like me can understand.

Thank you!

Each domain under your account has a web accessable directory with the same name as the domain.

For example, if your domain is called example.com, there will be a directory called example.com in your home directory, this directory is where you need to place your site files.

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost hosting using promo code [color=#CC0000]SAVEMONEY[/color] ( Click for promo code details )

When I first went to the site with an ftp program, it was totally empty. I created a folder mywebsite.com and uploaded the files there. Could I have done something wrong with it? And I used my real website name. Could my user I created not have the permisions or anything?

Hmmm… If your FTP client is logging in to your home directory, you should see quite a few directories, like ‘mail’, ‘logs’ etc. as well as the web accessable directories for any domains that you are ‘fully hosting’.

If you do not see these directories when you log-in, it is possible that you have set the starting directory for your FTP client to the web accessable directory for your domain (the one with the same name as the domain).

If so, then you do not need to create another directory named mywebsite.com, you just place your site files within this initial blank directory, or you could remove this starting directory from your FTP client configuration.