I don't know where to begin!

I am new to dreamhost and website editing in general.

Recently I was entrusted with the task of editing and updating an already existing website that has been hosted by dreamhost for some time. Unfortunately I was not given any instructions beyond the username and password for the dreamhost account (others who have edited the site in the past are inaccessible).

I’ve been exploring the dreamhost site for about an hour trying to figure out where to go to edit my website, but without success. So I have a couple of questions:

1. What area do you go to to edit your website?
  2. If that area is protected with an additional password, how do you reset those passwords so that you can access that area?

Any advice you can offer is greatly appreciated!

casag

first off if its some sort of business website you should tell the client that you are completely inexperienced and give them a chance to hire someone who knows what they are doing vs risking you killing their website.

if they still want you to figure it out you should start by learning the language (html, php, mysql and in that order you cannot go wrong). learn how to use a ftp program (filezilla is good and free. i use fireftp from my browser on occasion - i use firefox - and i’m also a fan of smartftp and flashfxp).

taking up management of an existing website can be tricky. you need to know (or be able to recognize) how the website was made. is it a website with static pages? did they make it with dreamweaver or some other gui type editor? did they simply whip it up in a text editor? is it a more dynamic site using a content management system (cms) like drupal or joomla? did they customize blogging software like wordpress? there are just too many variables for me to give you an adequate answer but those questions are definitely something you need to find out or discern for yourself.