I am currently thinking about this host

I have a few questions though:

1. Does Dreamhost have an FTP that is easy to understand. My old host was Angelfire and loved their upload feature, which was online through their site.

2. Dreamhost sounds wonderful, but I am interested in what you think is wrong with it.

3. Alright, I have only had a site for a little over a year, so I am very new to this. Is Dreamhost easy for a beginner?

Hev

Thanks for the help :slight_smile:

I’ve tried a few hosts and not been too happy with any of them until DreamHost (have been here for about a year). The web panel is tabbed and very easy to navigate. There is a huge help database. My e-mails for tech help have been promptly answered, and the features here for the price are great. Sound like a DreamHost commercial yet? lol! I’m just a happy customer who would recommend DH to anyone.

~Chell

1. FTP works just as it should, the only thing to keep in mind is that setting multiple unique ftp accounts to access a single area is not currently possible (well last time I checked it wasn’t). This just means if you have multiple people working on a site they have to share a ftp account.

2. Dreamhost have had a few problems whilst I have been with them, but so did the other couple of hosts I have tried. The difference is that the Dreamhosts problems have been explainable and stuff has been put into place to stop it happening again. To summarise when you have a problem with Dreamhost they fix it, where as a lot of hosts I have been with give you the brush off and it just keeps happening.

3. It is good for the beginner and the more advanced user, the control panel has good help documentation. And all accounts have shell access for more advanced work.

I would recommend them and have to many people, there are a lot of web hosts but Dreamhost is the best price/performance I have come across.