.htaccess - login popup appears multiple times

Hello,

I’m fairly new to linux/unix, but I am learning.

I’ve had this issue with php code I’ve written in the past, but I’m now having it with DreamHost’s one-click install program “Trac” - it’s a task tracking software solution.

I manually edited the .htaccess file that was in the Trac directory and added these lines:

AuthUserFile /home/my_user/.htpasswd
AuthType Basic
AuthName "User Login"
Require valid-user

When I go to the Trac website, the Authorization box comes up - I enter my information, but then the box appears again multiple times.

I finally hit “Cancel” which results in the HTML formatting of the page to be incorrect. Once I click on another tab on the site, everything runs fine and the formatting is restored to normal.

In the past, when I used DreamHost’s web panel to automatically set up .htaccess on a directory that I had custom php code for, it usually would work fine on some browsers, but other browsers, I would encounter the same problem, the authorization box would appear for seemingly every asset requested, etc…

What do I need to change so that the Authorization Login box only appears once instead of multiple times?

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!

Could part of this be due to the fact that below the Trac directory (where the .htaccess has permissions is for) is the logic directory for the python scripts for Trac?

Is there an issue with a directory that is password protected having to access files outside of its protected range?

I have the same problem with WordPress. I set up password protection for the wp-admin directory but then got nothing but 404 Not Found when I logged in. DreamHost Support put a workaround in the root htaccess file and moved some stuff out of it into the htaccess file in wp-admin. That let me log on but all the stylesheet formatting was gone. Next, DreamHost Support moved everything from the main htaccess file into the one in wp-admin.