How you manage to keep our servers online?

Somebody saving $97 with code, that would mean you only pay $22.4 USD for a year on their first plan.
We keep wondering how you manage to keep our servers online.

Thanks & Best Regards,

I don’t claim to have any inside knowledge of the DreamHost business plan, but I suspect that they are willing to forgo the first years profit in order to gain a new customer, hoping to make a profit from them in the future.

DreamHost has been running their promo-code system for quite a while now and, given their recent growth, I think it is working out well for them. :slight_smile:

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost plans using [color=#CC0000]PRICESLASH[/color] promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)

Like Mark, I have no “inside knowledge” but have seen DH staff remark in the past that they want the “long term” customer.

As long as they have sufficient resources, it seems they are willing to heavily subsidize your first year’s hosting in expectation that you will be happy and continue to host with them in subsequent years at their “regular” (still very reasonable) rates.

It seems to be working. In my case, when I signed up there were no such “promo codes” but I’m still here, and happy, 8 years later…they can make money on that! :wink:

–rlparker

I would be interested in seeing figures showing how long the average person stays with a particular host. Given the often problematic experience of changing hosts, I suspect that most people, having found a suitable host, tend to stay there, unless something fairly serious happens.

I know that I would need a very good reason to move from DreamHost, a slightly lower price or a bit more space/bandwidth wouldn’t be nearly enough for me to contemplate leaving.

Wow, that’s longer than the average marriage. :wink:

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost plans using [color=#CC0000]PRICESLASH[/color] promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)