How to resolve domain name to IP address

I am new to this, this is my first Domain Name registration. It took almost 6 days for Dreamhost to activate my account and things havent gone right since. I have searched all the parts of the Control Panel online and I cannot for the life of me find anywhere or any information ho to resolve my registered domain name to my ip address. I am doing all of my own hosting, as far as FTP and website and maybe email down the road. If anyone can help or point me in the right direction it would be appreciated

Have you set up a fully hosted domain?
https://panel.dreamhost.com/index.cgi?tree=domain.manage&

If you have a user, you can find the machine name in the panel:
https://panel.dreamhost.com/index.cgi?tree=users.users&

As I look at your post, it makes me think that you’re only using DreamHost for DNS right now, because it looks like you’re hosting your domain at home or elsewhere. If this is the case, then it’s very difficult to use DreamHost’s DNS to resolve hosting at another site. I’d recommend a service like ZoneEdit or DynDNS.

-Scott

I think what makes this difficult is that DreamHost doesn’t allow changes to major A records such as www.yourdomain.com and ftp.yourdomain.com

If there was a way, this user would first have to create the domain here at DreamHost (even though it’s not hosted here) just to get DNS records to be able to edit under Manage Domains. But then they would see that the A record for “www.” and “ftp.” are non-editable records.

-Scott

I just tried it with one of my ‘spare’ domains and I was able to create the A-Record for mydomain.com without a problem.

The domain in question was originally hosted here, but I simply removed the hosting and the non-editable DNS records vanished allowing me to add my own.

Edit: Actually, I should point out that the non-editable records did not vanish when I deleted the hosting, they vanished when I added the main A-Record for the domain.

Mark