How to install bash script

apps

Hi! I am trying to install a bash script that will email me a backup of my mySQL databases. Can someone please tell me (I’m quite new to this) how to setup this script? Thanks!

#!/bin/bash

This script runs as a nightly cron job to back a MySQL database to a Gmail account

Prints date of the format MM/DD/YY TODAY1="date +%D” # Prints date of the format MMDDYYYY TODAY2=“date +%m%d%Y” # The email address to which we’re sending backups ADDRESS="someone@gmail.com” # Local directory where we’ll be doing work and keeping copies of all archived files BACKUPDIR=”/root/backup” # MySQL username and password MYSQLUSER="root” MYSQLPASS=“f00b@R” # MySQL database to backup (or –all-databases to backup everything) DATABASE=”–all-databases” $ Name of backup file (used for plaintext and gzipped files) FILENAME="mysql_backup”

Change to the backup directory (so absolute directories aren’t included in the archive) cd $BACKUPDIR

Dump the MySQL databases to a plaintext file mysqldump -u $MYSQLUSER -p $MYSQLPASS $DATABASE > $FILENAME_$TODAY2

Package (tar) and compress (gzip) the plaintext MySQL dump # Append the date (MMDDYYYY) to the filename tar czf $FILENAME_$TODAY2.tar.gz $FILENAME_$TODAY2

Mail the resulting archive to our Gmail account # Body of email is the output from the date command at the exact time the cron job runs # Subject is “$FILENAME MM/DD/YY” date | mutt -s “$FILENAME ($TODAY1)” -a $FILENAME_$TODAY2.tar.gz $ADDRESS

I am also having trouble installing a bash script. I dont use much Linux, and I don’t get into the shell much, so please help me out.

I’m trying to setup a script called Hardfeed (that will let me recursively FTP files from another server). http://www.unix.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9174

Ive copied the 2 sections into a text editor, saved it as hardfeed, FTP’d it up , and chmod +x hardfeed

then in the shell I try (of course I’ve edited server name, etc.):