How setup directory to play with php while learning

Hi there, I am new to Dreamhost, WordPress, PHP.

I would like to follow the w3schools PHP tutorial, but being able to test the sample code as I go.

How can I set things up so that I can create files with code in them, and then see how they will look in a browser having connected to my Dreamhost hosted domain? I have a WordPress site as a test site already at the root of this domain, and don’t want to interfere with that for now. I just want a directory where I can create, view, edit pages of code using a text editor and see how it all works.

I have a shared hosting account, and have pressed the ‘one-click’ WP install. I am assuming that the php and MySQL functionality will be available to me wherever I put the directory/files/pages.

I hope this is clear. Any help greatly appreciated.

Will

Go to manage domains in the panel and add a sub-domain as fully hosted like test.yourdomain.com
Where it asks about what user to run the sub-domain on pick “Create new” and give it a name

Then you will have a completely separate empty sub-domain to test/learn with…

Thank you. I’ve just done as you suggest. Apparently it will take a while to propogate, so I’ll try it out later. I’ll let you know if I have any more questions about how to set up the test environment. I’ve sorted out how to use Filezilla with Sublime Text 2.

I love sublime text 2, I use it with winscp however.

New sub-domains propagate pretty fast, bet it’s available now. Changes do take longer, but the message is the same for both.

Thank you for your comments. I have waited 24 hours and it is still giving me the following message:

Site Temporarily Unavailable
We apologize for the inconvenience. Please contact the webmaster/ tech support immediately to have them rectify this.

error id: “bad_httpd_conf”

I have read the wiki entry on this error but still don’t understand why it should be happening. Any help greatly appreciated.

Will