How I deployed Django

software development

I wrote a small recount of how I deployed Django 1.4 and Python 2.7.3 within a virtualenv on Dreamhost

I am no expert (actually a complete noob) but I managed to get it working.

Here is a link to the original post I made

This guide upgrades the default python installation to 2.7.3, installs virtualenv and pip.

I assume that you have created a project locally and it works without any problems when you run python manage.py runserver.

I assume that you have made changes to your setting file for a production server eg turned debug off. If not, follow this guide.

I assume that you have used git to create a repository. I recommend using Bitbucket - make a private repository and use this guide if you are not familiar with it.

I used MySQL so if you used any others then you will have to Google for a different method when you reach the MySQL related steps.

I assume that your local project makes use of other apps that you have downloaded e.g South

Log into the Dreamhost control panel, go into the user section and create a user with shell access.
Go into the domain section and create a new domain. Make sure you select the “Passenger” option.
Open the MySQL database section and create a database. These settings will be used in settings.py
SSH into the server. If you are using windows you should use Putty but I have never used it. In linux, open up a terminal and type:

ssh <shell_user>@<server_name>.dreamhost.com

You need to replace <shell_user> with the username you created in step 1
<server_name> can be found on the Dreamhost control panel. Go into the “manage users” section and it is listed under “machine” beside the shell account you created. You will then be asked your password.
Voila! You are in. To upgrade python, follow these steps:

wget http://www.python.org/ftp/python/2.7.3/Python-2.7.3.tgz
 tar zxvf Python-2.7.3.tgz
 cd Python-2.7.3
 ./configure --prefix=$HOME/Python27
 make
 make install