How do I promote my new DreamHost site?

Hello,

I have just started a site on DreamHost, (unhappened.com), and need advice on how to get traffic.

The aim of my site is to promote a remarkable novel by someone else, (not me), and I believe once it gets going, once word gets around, everything will be fine.

I have added my url to as many search engines as I could find, (which probably accounts for the only visitors so far), I have emailed web-promotion companies for advice, to which very few have even replied, except to ask what I am selling, (a person), then ask for money I cannot afford.

I am a student of arts with limited funds, and I don’t have much technical knowledge, but I have unlimited faith in my project of introducing the world really to the most remarkable, strange, challenging, and beautifully written work I have ever read, and I have read heaps.

I do not subscribe anywhere, rarely comment, or have any efriends, (I have a few physical friends), so I am not exactly gregarious, more a quiet loner, but I am more than willing to do what it takes, even selling my old car and pay someone to get my site noticed.

Anyway, any advice would be appreciated.

Thankyou,

Lauren Wills

Content, content, content.

There’s a blog called Pepys Diary (http://www.pepysdiary.com/) which over the course of years re-published the diary of Samuel Pepys. Perhaps you should just publish the book bit by bit as posts, rather than linking to PDF and DOC files that cannot be indexed

Once you have a decent amount of content, you need to promote through relevant channels… e.g. literary blogs and forums.

Dear Monjo,

It was my intention to publish the book bit by bit, but not as posts, as formatting will be lost. What does “a decent amount of content” mean?

Thanyou for your response.

Lauren Wills
[hr]

Dear keyplyr,

Could you please elaborate.

Thankyou