How Difficult is DreamCompute Administration? - I have no experience

dreamcompute

Greetings,

My background: I have no experiencing in administering or updating my own VPS, I’m used to Dreamhost managing everything and then I use sudo to tweak a few variables in the Apache Configuration (this sudo edit is absolutely necessary for my server)… I managed to install one 3rd-party software “bolted” onto MySQL, and wrote a few small shell scripts. I have very basic Linux/Shell experience. I currently have a VPS and MySQL VPS plan with an SSL on one site. I have a lot of programming and web development experience, but I have a major lapse in this Server/Network/Apache/Linux backend type stuff…

Dreamhost Changes: sudo access is about to be removed from VPS and they are now charging $120/mo for 240GB disk space, which is too small for me and that alone costs 5x more than what I’ve currently been paying. It seems that my only realistic option is DreamCompute.

This is what Dreamhost says about DreamCompute:

[quote]DreamCompute is almost completely unmanaged. We do give
you the option of launching an instance with one of a few different Linux
operating systems that we’ve setup for you, but beyond that, you’re on
your own for updates.[/quote]

Questions: How difficult it is to actually manage and administer DreamCompute on my own if I’ve never done it before? What do I have to learn and how many security updates are necessary and were do I find these security updates? If you have MySQL VPS, do you pay for that separate server, or do I have to set up my own MySQL VPS on DreamCompute? What other stuff is involved here? Is it fairly easy to figure out or do you need a software engineering degree?

Concerns: I don’t want to move to DreamCompute and have all of my websites and business fall apart because I don’t know what I’m doing.

Thanks

Hi peppy