How can I back up My Word Press database

Hello,

I’d like to backup my blog but I’ve little idea how. Do I need to use phpmyadmin? How do I log into this? I’m a complete beginner at this. I know how to upload files using Dreamweaver but little more. I hope someone can help.

Thanks

Chris

Look at your web panel you should find a link for mysql under goodies and on that page you will see a link for all of your databases.
Silk

Thanks for the reply, I’ve been to the page you describe but see nothing there about how to backup the database.

Chris

I haven’t tried it, but if you log into the admin area and go to the plug-ins section, there is a “Backup Wordpress Database” plug-in that you can activate.

If you don’t have it installed (not sure if it came with all versions of WP), here’s a link to the plug-in site:
http://www.skippy.net/blog/category/wordpress/plugins/wp-db-backup/

:stuck_out_tongue: Save $96 at Dreamhost with the 96DOLLARSOFF promo code.

Thanks, I have a problem, when I try to log-in to my blog I get an error message which begins:

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: user_can_access_admin_page

I wanted to upgrade to version 2.01 in the hope that I would then be able to get into the admin area. I want to backup the database before upgrading. I thin using phpmyadmin is what I should do but I’ve no idea how to do that.

Chris

This page in the wiki will walk you thorough getting a backup of your database from phpmyadmin.

-Matttail

Thanks for the link, but I don’t know how to log into phpMyAdmin. I’m stuck at the beginning.

Chris

To log into phpmyadmin all that you need to do is navigate to the host name for your database - such as mysql.example.com and log in with the database user/pass. Yo can view your host name and the user in the panel > goodies > mysql.

-Matttail