Hosting Transfer

Hi, I’m new to Dreamhost. Yesterday, I decided to move my hosting from a place called Speakeasy to Dreamhost. Last night, I logged into my Network Solutions account (the place my domain name is registered) and changed the nameservers from Speakeasy to Dreamhost.

I know this takes anywhere from 24-48 hours to complete, but my question is do places like that send you an email when it is complete?

Hi Joseph, welcome to the forum. :slight_smile:

It can take up to 72 hours for the new DNS information to propagate across the Internet, during this time your domain may ‘come and go’, before settling down.

Generally not. They may (but probably won’t) email you to let you know the changes have been made, but since they have no real way of knowing that the new DNS information has fully propagated, they can’t really email you concerning that.

Basically, it is just a matter of being patient and waiting for things to start working. Although, it is probably a good idea to add the domain to the DreamHost hosting system in the panel at Domains -> Manage Domains -> Add New Domain / Sub-Domain, unless it already appears in the domains list.

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on all DreamHost plans using [color=#CC0000]PRICESLASH[/color] promo code (Click for DreamHost Review)

Okay, thanks.

So in theory, my website could already be switched over?

No problem. :slight_smile:

Yes. Why not give it a try in a browser? If the new DNS in active for you and the domain has been added to the hosting system (ie: it appears in your domain list in the panel), you should see an empty directory listing when browsing to your domain.

Note: Just because the domain resolves correctly for you, does not mean that it will resolve correctly for everyone else across the Internet until propagation has fully completed.