Hosting plans questions

Hi.

Lemme start off by saying that I’m a pretty technical individual - I’m just new at the web-hosting stuff, since most of my experience has been setting up websites for other people, rather than my own.

I’ve got a handful of what I suspect will be low-traffic websites I want to host. I figure the shared hosting plan will take care of that.

But, I also have a few grandiose ideas that might end up being moderate traffic websites. Should I get a new plan per each “big” website? Or do I simply upgrade plans and have all my existing websites be covered by the upgraded plan?

I don’t want to be a “bad neighbor” and maybe overload the machine all my websites are hosted on. =D

Summing it up:

Website a, b, c = low traffic.
Website d, e = moderate traffic.

a, b, c, d, e == lots of traffic on the same server.

What would I do with d, e in this scenario? New hosting plan? VPS?

What is “high traffic” for you ?
You can host most websites on DH, and it does not matter if all are on the same plan.

Get [color=#CC0000]$97[/color] Off with promo code :[color=#CC0000]97USA[/color] :cool: -->choose your plan (promo code included)

I don’t know - maybe, 60k uniques a day.

Since this is a web app though I’m worried about people hitting it and then getting a “account suspended because of…” too much bandwidth, cpu, etc. I’m also wondering what’ll happen if Digg eye puts its Eye of Sauren on my website and there’s a big traffic spike.

Oddly enough, DreamHost doesn’t really seem to want people to get multiple shared hosting plans. They do say that you can only have one account - which I interpret as only one normal shared account. I’m sure they’d be more than happy for you to have several dedicated server accounts. :slight_smile:

Anyway, as a matter of practical advice I’d suggest just having one account with all your sites. Monitor your site performance and turn resource monitoring on.