Hosting a foreign Domain Name with Dreamhost

I have registered/purchased a foreign domain name and I want DreamHost to host the domain name. What are the names of the primary and secondary nameservers and ip addresses that are used for hosting a foreign domain name? I have referred DreamHost to my domain name, but my foreign register needs the name servers.

ns1.dreamhost.com
ns2.dreamhsot.com
ns3.dreamhost.com

I have used these nameservers w/ the associated ip addresses but still when I type my domain name into the address bar it comes back as “webpage not found” “The connection to XXX was interrupted.” “Error 101 (net::ERR_CONNECTION_RESET): The connection was reset.”

I’m pretty sure that the nameservers listed in DreamHosts Wiki are just used for US based registered domain names. I’m trying to use a foreign based registered domain name.

I’m very new at this, sorry if the answer is easier than I’m making it out to be.

BEInstitute

Definitely not so. First it wouldn’t make any sense for such a restriction to exist, and secondly I have several “foreign” domain names using Dreamhost nameservers.

Do a whois of your domain name and check that the Dreamhost nameservers are listed. For instance doing a whois on my .nl domain shows this (amongst other things):

[quote]Domain nameservers:
ns1.dreamhost.com
ns2.dreamhost.com
ns3.dreamhost.com
[/quote]

Okay I have done a WhoIs for my Domain name and yes Dreamhost is listed:

Servidores de nombre (Domain servers):
ns1.dreamhost.com (66.33.206.206)
ns2.dreamhost.com (208.96.10.221)
ns3.dreamhost.com (66.33.216.216)

I’m afraid my boss is gonna crack my “walnuts” if I don’t get this webpage hosting figured out by the end of this weekend.

BEI

how about telling us your domain name.

My domain name is: beinstitute.cl
IP address: 128.242.54.18

I have a hunch that what is happening is that the registrar of my domain name, wants me to input one primary server name and then has space for more secondary server names.