Historical Price Trend

Greetings from the Friendly North,

I have noticed that DreamHost’s current prices vary depending on how long a contract a new customer selects when signing up. The terms range from one month up to 10 years.

Will someone please tell me what the historical trends have been with regards to web hosting prices.

I have some past experience using HTML to create web pages for an educational institution’s intranet, but there was never any cost involved. There was no wait for search engines to find my new pages either, as nearly everyone in the building usually saw my web pages within hours of them being posted. As some of the teachers would say, I had a captive audience.

Now I am considering stepping up to the big time of publishing a website on the internet. I have spent a lot of time lately researching web hosting companies, learning some new vocabulary, and trying to compare packages. Considering my current skill level, needs and aspirations, DreamHost appears to be a good choice, but I am perplexed by its pricing scheme.

I have no idea if some of the longer term contracts being offered by DreamHost are really a bargain or not, because I have no idea what the historical trend has been with regards to web hosting prices on the internet.

I am also wondering whether a web hosting package that includes far more features than I currently know how to use is going to leave me feeling locked into a contract for a restrictive, obsolete package a few years from now. And if so, how soon?