High VPS load

vps

I’m running out of ideas on how to fix this problem. I’ve had a VPS for awhile now, over a year at least, and am running Wordpress 3.5 and a Vbulletin forum with it. Few plugins overall, WP Supercache for the WP site.

It seems like every couple of weeks, or every week in some instances, the server load spikes for a day or two (or three), with it averaging in the 20’s but spending time in the 70’s.

I had it set at 2500 for memory and 2000 for mysql. I’ve been told I needed more ram (though the server status page rarely showed it going above 2000), so I set it to 3500 just to see if it would make an impact.

I’m having no luck at all. I’m not a hugely busy site but I get good traffic. I can’t figure out what would be causing it to spike to these high numbers.

The server load just topped 100. There’s no reason for this, is there?

Mem: 3584000k total, 2672288k used, 911712k free

##DISCLAIMER#####
I am not a VPS Professional, and I do not work for DreamHost. This is just my personal experience:
##END DISCLAIMER##

I also use WordPress, and have WP Multisites set up running several sub-sites. I recently switched to VPS, and had huge spikes that were causing my VPS to be rebooted periodically.
First, I went through and removed all unecessary plugins, and one in particular (a sort of analytics plugin) that I thought might be causing some issues.
Then, I set each domain to use mod_php 5.2.* in the DH Panel under Domains>Edit
Then Under VPS>Configure Server I enabled PHP Cache (xCache) and disabled any other settings (such as Jabber) that I was not using.

…Then…there’s more…
I went here: http://www.7is7.com/software/dreamhost/psmanager.html and downloaded and installed PSManager and PSRebooter, configured according to the instructions there, and set a Cron Job to reboot (using PSRebooter) twice a week at 2 in the morning (this clears out the cache and resets any tasks that are going bonkers).