Hi. Yep...another newbie

I just joined DreamHost tonight. And…I’m lost. It was recommended as the preferred site for uploading music for my myspace profile but I see it’s much more than that here. And not to say I can’t eventually use other services since I am a musician and want to display my own music in the future…but for now how do I even upload a file like a mp3? lol…As time goes by I’ll learn…

Hi, and welcome to DreamHost. :slight_smile:

Hosting your own content can seem daunting at first, especially if you aren’t familiar with all the terms used, but rest assured that things will become easier with time, as you become familiar with the way things are done.

I assume that when you signed-up you registered a ‘free’ domain name and that you have received the email notifying you that the domain registration has gone through correctly.

Firstly, it will take some time before your domain name is reachable (consistently) using a web browser. This is due to the DNS information for your domain having to ‘propagate’ across the Internet. The time required for this does vary, but can take up to 72 hours.

The easiest way to upload files is to use the DreamHost supplied web-based FTP client. You can log-in to this FTP client using the link below;

http://webftp.dreamhost.com/

After logging-in, you should see your ‘home directory’, which will contain a number of sub-directories. There should be a sub-directory with the same name as the domain name you registered (ie: yourdomain.com), this is the ‘web-directory’ for your domain and it is here that you need to upload any files that are to be publicly accessible.

Once you have uploaded your files, you can link to them from your myspace profile using a link like http://www.yourdomain.com/somefile.mp3

Of-course, you can create sub-directories within this ‘web-directory’ and upload your files there instead, perhaps to keep things organised.