Help with Redirecting or Establishing Homepage

I’m new to this so any help will be very appreciated! I have two connected problems.

1. We are hosting on Dreamhost and had an old, static site: www.mydomain.org. We redesigned using Wordpress and installed it in a subdirectory call ‘site’: www.mydomain.org/site. I ultimately want the homepage to be www.mydomain.org but have the rest of the site to live in www.mydomain.org/site. Do I just make an index.html and put redirect code in the header; or is there a server-side way to do this?

2. Without having the above answer available at the time, we had to quickly make the new site live so I i cloaked it to another domain where it was being built, tested, & finalized. The new design thus shows up on another server while our URL is cloaked with www.mydomain.org.

What should I do to uncloak the site and get it back to our Dreamhost server AND so our new Wordpress homepage reads www.mydomain.org.

Thanks!

Ok…I figured out what I needed to do.

1. Cloaking
    Under the circumstances it was a must to cloak for a day but just created more work.
    So, I ‘deactivated cloak’ under Manage Domains.
    Then, under Manage Domains, I enabled ‘Fully Host This Site’.

The site kept going to the cloaked destination despite this. So, I refreshed the DNS (blue “Go” when you go to Manage Domains, then click DNS). I waited a few minutes then upon visiting the site I just got an error message about the cloaking not working. I went to http://web-sniffer.net/ to check if the new changes took effect, and they did. It told me to close my browser and disconnect/reconnect my internet connection (not sure if i needed to do that but I did). Relaunched the browser and the “old site” appeared - which is good.

1. The next solution was to just move Wordpress from the subdirectory where I originally, and mistakenly, installed it (i should have just installed in in the root directory).

I found out how to do this from these links: