Help with Moving site here

OK, so I signed up with Dream Host… got in to the Control Center and setup my first account for a website that is being hosted elsewhere but is to be moved here (yes, I changed the DNS nameservers to ns1.dreamhost.com, ns2.dreamhost.com)

After I setup the account it brought me to a page showing the username and password for the hosting space this particular website will be on and it says it will be on kneecap.dreamhost.com

So in my FTP program (Ipswitch WS FTP Pro) do I put kneecap.dreamhost.com as the host name, or the domain itself which is what I have been doing up until now.

It’s been more than 10 minutes now and I still cannot contact the account at Dream Host with my FTP program so I can upload the website… should I just continue to wait?

I tend to use the DreamHost name of the server, so if my domain isn’t resolving to that server for whatever reason (I am a developer, so there are fantastic ways in which I can break domain resolution :slight_smile: ), I can still access the server without knowing the IP address.

It is also useful in case you need your domain to point at the former hosting server, while moving over the site files. It sounds like you’ve already changed your nameservers, so I bet either will work for you.

OK, not sure what do do now other than wait and hope someday the new account for this site is activated on Dream Host.

I put in kneecap.dreamhost.com and the username and password… but my FTP program is still unable to login to this newly created webspace where I want to upload content to for the particular site I’m going to move here first.

When you setup a new site (not speaking about the domain name itself) on Dream Host… how long does the account take to be activated?

Generally, no. Have you used SFTP? There is an FTP overview in the DH docs.