Help with IP denial

I hope someone can help unravel this mystery.

In my .htaccess file I am denying the following IP blocks:
order allow,deny
#deny from 78.0.0.0 to 78.255.255.255
deny from 78.0.0.0/8
#deny from 88.0.0.0 to 88.255.255.255
deny from 88.0.0.0/8
allow from all

Here are recent access log entries:

88.198.112.187 - - [12/Jan/2009:02:30:42 -0800] “GET / HTTP/1.1” 301 568 “http://spellsbook.com/freescripts/mydomain.com/” “Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.8.1.16) Gecko/20080702 Firefox/2.0.0.16”

78.47.30.13 - - [09/Jan/2009:03:29:29 -0800] “GET / HTTP/1.1” 301 568 “http://jollysailors.com/bestof/mydomain.com/” “Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.8.1.16) Gecko/20080702 Firefox/2.0.0.16”

While I’m not an expert, I have been denying IPs with .htaccess for years. I know this .htaccess file works as I’ve tested using my own IP with no problem. Yet the above IPs have successfully accessed the site. How can that be?

TIA,
Hope

You don’t need the mask if you want to deny from all of 78 and/or 88:

deny from 78
deny from 88

All you need is the first octet. Some users add a trailing dot so it’s 78. or 88. but it’s supposed to be fine without it.

-Scott

Thanks Scott. I’m sure I have a lot to learn but for now I’m concerned with why those IPs were able to access at all. It doesn’t make sense to me!

Edited to add: You weren’t saying that the format I’ve used is incorrect and that’s why they could access, were you?

Thanks.

The /8 mask isn’t going to block everything in that Class A block. Rather than sit here and figure out what the /8 encompasses, I’d say just drop it and block the entire Class A.

-Scott