Help with Cron Jobs

Ok I am new to php SQL, and more advanced forms of web design/coding/programmming or what ever you want to call it. I am currently on Page 17 of a book on php. SO you know my level of experince. Well I thought i would add a small open source game to my website, just to learn and practice php. Well i know basically no! command line stuff. ANd i will be honest, I am super lost, and i have gone to the wiki, and various other sites. I am just lost, if someone has some spare time to help me with baby steps through it that would eb great!..

Sure thing. First of you’ll need to log onto your server via SSH (or telnet). There’s a wiki article on that - but the major points are that you have to edit the user in the panel to allow SSH log in.

Panel > Users > Manage Users > Edit (for the user you want to log in with) and place a tick mark for allowing shell access. click to save the changes. It says it can tak up to two hours, but such changes normally happen in 5 min or less for me.

Next you’ll need a program like putty (for windows). It’s prety easy to set up, connect to yourdomain.com with the default settings. Give the user name and pass word and you should be rewared with some ascii text giving the name of your server.

Now you can pick up with the crontab article in the wiki. You’ll be issuing the commands from there in putty. For instance once you log in just type:
crontab -e

to edit your crontab. Let me know if part of that wiki article don’t make sense and I’ll do my best to explain.

–Matttail
art.googlies.net - personal website

Hey, I’m having a problem actually creating them - when I login to ssh and type crontab -l I just get a permission denied error. Anyone know what to do about that?

crontab -l will list what you have.

You need crontab -e to edit (create) one.

-Scott

Same problem with trying to create one, list one or anything - permission denied.

Try here: