Help uploading dreamweaver site

i just remade my website on dreamweaver and tried to upload it onto the same ftp server ive been using for my old site, but now im getting a 404 message every time i try and load the page. im using the same url as the old website and im completely lost at what ive done wrong here…i cant even get my index.html page up, although dreamweaver says that i am logged into the server. i deleted all my old files from the ftp and uploaded all the new ones. any ideas of what i can do to fix this? please help!!

My guess is that your files are probably being uploaded the your home folder, and not your domain folder. In other words, they are not being properly uploaded. See this link to learn how to properly set up Dreamweaver to work with DreamHost.

dreamweaver says that i am connected to the server though, and when i test the connection it says it was successful. i just can seem to open any of the pages online.[hr]
im new to all this, so here are some things i feel might be a problem:

-all pages are page.htm, except index which is index.html
-some of the dreamweaver file icons are safari, some are dreamweaver logo…does this make any difference? why would they be different?

You are connected. You are just putting your files in the wrong place. It’s like being logged into a computer, but putting the files in the wrong folder. Make sure the “Host directory:”, or “What Folder on the server do you want to store your files in?” field is set to your domain name (without a www.) and a forward slash after it, like example.com/[hr]

The file names and icons are normal and should not affect your site.

(sorry if im being totally stupid here)

im pretty sure i did that. heres what ive got: