HELP: Upgrade Per Module Mail::Mailer

apps

I’m trying to install the latest version of Bugzilla (2.20), but it requires the Perl module, Mail::Mailer 1.67 (http://search.cpan.org/~markov/MailTools-1.67/Mail/Mailer.pm). Unfortunately, DH only has version 1.62 installed.

Is it possible to upgrade this on my own? If so, how? I’m a Perl noob, so talk slooooow. :slight_smile:

no, you can’t upgrade the version on the server, as that would effect everyone that is hosted on your machine.

However you should be able to install it your self in your home directory. Basically that invloves you using telnet or ssh and following the install instructions provided with the module. You just have to pass a ‘prefix’ when you make the install to tell it to install to your home direcotry. I’m hoping that if you find the install documentation for this module it will explan. If you have more specifici questions, I’m sure someone can help you out.

-Matttail

I read the readme and followed the instructions, which appear to be very basic. However, when I run this command…

make install…I receive the following error:

Warning: You do not have permissions to install into /usr/local/lib/perl/5.8.4 at /usr/share/perl/5.8/ExtUtils/Install.pm line 114. mkdir /usr/local/share/perl/5.8.4/auto: Permission denied at /usr/share/perl/5.8/ExtUtils/Install.pm line 176 make: *** [pure_site_install] Error 255 Any thoughts on what to do next?

try:
make install --prefix=/home/user/dir/

I think that’s right anyways. I demonstrated this in a post I amde about aspell if you need to double check the syntax.

-Matttail

I’m getting closer. What about these lines in the makefile:

/usr/shareDo I change those to:

• bump *

Anyone?

I’ve never edited the make file to change the install directory… but normally using the --prefix=/home/user/folder works for me.