Help! Totally lost!

I’m very new to this. Finally managed to connect to FTP using Filezilla. I have all the files in the right directory, but my site still shows the generic dreamhost placeholder. I have no idea what I am doing wrong.

I also have a question about hostnames and server names. If I try to connect using my domain name as my FTP hostname, I end up with this:

Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message…
Response: 220 DreamHost FTP Server
Command: USER kenwat7
Response: 331 Password required for kenwat7
Command: PASS *********
Response: 530 Login incorrect.
Error: Critical error
Error: Could not connect to serve

I am having to use principal.dreamhost.com to get this:

Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message…
Response: 220 DreamHost FTP Server
Command: USER kenwat7
Response: 331 Password required for kenwat7
Command: PASS *********
Response: 230 User kenwat7 logged in
Command: SYST
Response: 215 UNIX Type: L8
Command: FEAT
Response: 211-Features:
Response: MDTM
Response: MFMT
Response: TVFS
Response: UTF8
Response: MFF modify;UNIX.group;UNIX.mode;
Response: MLST modify*;perm*;size*;type*;unique*;UNIX.group*;UNIX.mode*;UNIX.owner*;
Response: LANG ko-KR.UTF-8;ko-KR;zh-TW;ja-JP.UTF-8;ja-JP;en-US;zh-CN;bg-BG;fr-FR
Response: REST STREAM
Response: SIZE
Response: 211 End
Command: OPTS UTF8 ON
Response: 200 UTF8 set to on
Command: PWD
Response: 257 “/” is the current directory
Command: TYPE I
Response: 200 Type set to I
Command: PASV
Response: 227 Entering Passive Mode (173,236,168,105,226,48).
Command: MLSD
Response: 150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for MLSD
Response: 226 Transfer complete

I don’t understand why my host isn’t my domain name.Maybe someone could enlighten me.

I’m not sure what you’ve done.