Help needed for MySQL

software development

hi guys, im really really new in this business… I dont know a thing abt mysql and some of the same stuff. i currently working as a research assistant at a genomics lab. i dunno if any of you guys ever heard of bioinformatics but that is what i am ‘playing’ with now. so, my supervisor asked me to make a searchable database using PHP and mysql… i have to learn all this stuff by myself…and so i did!but not all…just enuff to start building my own db…
my problem is… i dunno how to import a large compiled data (flat file format if im not mistaken)into my mysql database…
please take note that i didnt use command prompt to build my mysql databse so i dont know a thing of any of mysql command lines! I used a program named PHPTriad. Any of u guys heard this progrm b4? This prgrm contains all elements needed to start a mysql database - apache server, PHP and mysqladmin…all you have to do is to just install it to your PC and youre done!
just run the apache server, start the mysqladmin, and start building your mysql database… it’s quite user friendly…
If you guys happen to know or even better, have used this program b4(phptriad), please…please tell me more…

As for now, i am still inputing my data one by one into the db… and i have like, more than 1000 data files left!please help…thanks

I am a BEGINNER! Please hELpppp!!!

Maybe if you showed us what format the datafile is in i.e. and example of it… someone could write a script or point you in the right direction.

Also you could include the layout of your database., which fields you have and where…

the datafile is in ‘fasta’ format, but you use notepad to view them
here is one example of the datafile viewed on notepad:

[quote]CONTIG1 1 members, constructed from BG466330
[/quote]

AGCATTTAAAGAAATAAAAGGAGTTTTTTTTTCAGATTTACCTTTAGAGTGGCCGCTGCA
GCACCAGCAGCGGCAGCAGCACAGCAGCAGCAGCATCAGGGTTTATTTCACGCGAGGAGC

[quote]CONTIG2 1 members, constructed from AI676591
[/quote]