Help me pick the right one!

Ok, I am about to bite the Dreamhost bullet. I will be running my ecommerce site on here. I think it fits my needs well enough. The only issue I have is this, I plan to use ZenCart and have google checkout, paypal, and my linkpoint account as options to checkout. With the linkpoint I think I need a static IP and/or the SSL stuff. I want to use a promo code but need to make sure I get the right deal setup. Could anyone point me in the right direction?

If you use promo code FIDGETIP you get one free IP plus $67 off (the max discount)

For 30% more diskspace, 30% more bandwidth, and $40 off use promo code [color=#CC0000]THEFULLMONTY[/color]

fidgeting.net

What about the SSL? Is that something that is “needed”? I am new to this sorta stuff and want to do it right.

For an e-commerce site, SSL is something really needed.

Yes, you will generally need an SSL cert if you’re going to have people entering their credit card information on your site. There are, of course, ways to handle payment via a third party, but if you’re going to want to support all the payment methods you mention, I think you’re going to have to buy an SSL cert for your site.

You can buy this from DreamHost’s partner, but they’re also fine with you getting one on your own. When I last checked, the cheapest were $60-$80 a year except for the mysteriously cheap GoDaddy certs that can be as low as $19.95 a year.

Free unique IP and $67 off with promo code [color=#CC0000]FLENSFREEIP67[/color] or use [color=#CC0000]FLENS97[/color] for $97 off. Click here for more options

So is that only available on the level4 plan? Or is it something that can be added to a lower plan (like level1)

Gotcha. Thanks Lensman. So I can still get the Level1 that I wanted and then get the SSL cert and add to it then? Also I will still need the Static IP correct? Thanks alot ya’ll.

As I understand it, you can add a cert to any plan, but it is include with the L4 “Strictly Business” plan.