Help: How do YOU develop Rails apps on Dreamhost?

software development

I am new to Ruby on Rails and just created my account here at Dreamhost. I’ve got my MySql subdomain working and created a couple subdomains for ROR apps that each show the ROR Welcome screen. So far, so good! I also have a complete ROR environment configured on my Powerbook and can create apps locally.

How to proceed from here is a bit perplexing.

I am reading through the Agile Web Development with Rails 2nd ed. and will be building the shopping cart software (the book’s main example app) as I go along. Should I do all of my development locally on my Powerbook, and then re-create the MySql table structures/data on my Dreamhost MySql databse and upload certain parts of the app’s dir structure to my Dreamhost subdomains after I get them working? Or should I edit a file and then upload it right away to see the results live on the site? I use TextMate on my mac and I’m not a fan of editing text files from the command line using something like Pico. I don’t have the public going to this site. It’s mainly for learning ROR and having it live so I can send other people there to check it out if I wanted to.

So how do the rest of you who do ROR development operate with dreamhost? Do you work on the live files or do you work locally and upload every so often??

-=Randy

Yeah, the common way is to get the app working locally and upload it when its all done! Remeber that ruby runs in production mode on the server.

Ah, good tip. I had noticed that in railsapp/config/environment.rb the production line is commented out. I wondered if that meant I could also use it in development/test modes. So this means I don’t need to create development or test versions of MySql databases, huh?