HELP! Bad Referrer - Access Denied

I am a web designer that has been using the dreamhost form-mail [formmail.dreamhost.com/] for years with domains I host with dreamhost and customer hosted domains. As long as the recipient field was an email that was a dreamhost email, it worked fine. That is until yesterday! NOW ALL MY MAIL FORMS DON’T WORK–ARRGH [on customer hosted domains]! Specifically, dreamhost now looks to see if the domain where the form lives is hosted by them. I can’t believe they are doing this to me! Now I have dozens of simple mail forms that don’t work on all different domains [like the one at the bottom of these pages: http://arroyo-rp.com/philosophy.htm ]

Any suggestions for simple mail form alternatives out there??

web design and graphic design
ohsodesign.com

Actually, Dreamhost made that change several months ago. I guess that you are just now seeing it. There is a very good (IMHO) alternative at http://nms-cgi.sourceforge.net/scripts.shtml

I have used it (on Dreamhost), it has very good features, appears to be secure, etc. Highly Recommended!

–rlparker

create an email alias to forward to the email the forms are currently set up to forward to. then change the form to send to that alias.

johngrayson.com
suffocate[us]

Not allowing off-site forms to submit to formmail scripts is standard practice to prevent abuse. The Dreamhost mail script is provided as a convenience for web sites they host. If you need a form for a site hosted elsewhere, you’ll need to set up your own. The NMS-Formmail script mentioned above is a good bet if you need to use this type of script. Something you can hard-code the recipient address in (as opposed to passing it as a form parameter) is better (I don’t know if you can do this with NMS-Formmail or not).

This, of course, has nothing to do with the e-mail address the form is configured to send to.

If you want useful replies, ask smart questions.