Google Reader self-hosted replacement

apps

I’m looking at putting my own rss aggregator on my host and wondered if this would be a good candidate for a 1-click install for others.

I was going to start trying out some of the self-hosted ones listed here:
http://www.webresourcesdepot.com/google-reader-alternatives-hosted-self-hosted-desktop-browser-extensions/

Anyone experience with any of these?

Personally I’ve been using tt-rss for about 8 months (ever since Google Reader decided that it didn’t need to push feeds in real time)

It’s not really a 1-click candidate, since it’s a little hacky with the install still (and the upgrades…) but IMO it’s good for the savvy self hoster :slight_smile:

http://tt-rss.org/redmine/projects/tt-rss/wiki

Question: On the wiki page it mentions: Running tt-rss on shared hosting might work for you but is not supported. Are you running it on a shared machine here on Dreamhost? If so, any issues?

You can run it on shared so long as you use cron to run the checks (or run them manually) vs trying to use the daemon. The daemon process will not run on shared here (or anywhere really), which is why it’s not supported IIRC.

I have not run it on shared here, but I have elsewhere with no issues. The ‘worst’ that would happen is like any PHP process that uses too much. Curiously, I find running an update via cron every 5 minutes works best, since then it’s making small updates, vs a huge download all at once.

I really want to see if I can set the TT up. Unfortuantely i AM on the Happy Plan, which means i’m using Shared.

I’ve tried reading through the TT stuff and it does look a little complex. There aren’t any step by steps.

Couple of questions:
• I’m assuming that DH using at least version 5.3 of PHP…right?
• Does DH use PostgreSQL or MySQL?
• “Having an accelerator like php-apc is highly recommended.” DH have?