Gmail--is it better?

Hi, I have been thinking of migrating my email hosting from DreamHost to Gmail setup. The reasons I have for doing this are 1) Gmail in my experience is much faster at receiving emails than my dreamhost account; and 2) I’ve grown tired of the unreliable dreamhost email servers. It’s true they work great most of the time but it’s too often I have issues sending/receiving (such as the issue this morning).

I am a tech consultant so I’m OK with the process (although I know it’s a lot of work to migrate an account). I’m just wondering what other users think about using the Gmail option and/or Google Apps in general with DreamHost. Is it worth the trouble to migrate? Thanks!

I have my DH domains forward their mail to Gmail. And Gmail lets me send from multiple verified return addresses.

I haven’t gone with Google Apps because I’ve never gotten the CNAME thing working properly. The URL always ends up looking like a.google.com/example.com or something like that.

-Scott

I’m with Scott. The Gmail option is fantastic.

Maximum Cash Discount on any plan with MAXCASH

How To Install PHP.INI / ionCube on DreamHost

i switched to google apps for mail (and calendar) some time ago. i use thunderbird on both linux and windows on both my desktop and my laptop, and connecting them via imap to gmail servers works a lot better than having each of them download mail through pop and use the same mailbox files on a shared folder. then when i got an iphone i was able to easily work that in as well.

maybe i could have done imap without going to google, but i am also able to sync my google contacts between all my thunderbird installations and my phone, which is another bonus.