Getting started with ImageMagick

apps

I need to use ImageMagick on one of my sites, and I could use some help getting going.

First off, the installed version on my server is only 6.2.4, and I would like to install the latest (6.3.9) as I would like to use some of the newer features and supported file formats. I found the wiki article ( http://wiki.dreamhost.com/KB_/Web_Programming/Do_you_support…?/_ImageMagick#Parent_Article ) with instructions for compiling my own version, but they don’t seem to work, and I’m no shell expert.
The first line:
~src$ wget ftp://ftp.imagemagick.org/pub/ImageMagick/ImageMagick.tar.gz

returns the error: bash: ~src$ command not found. So already I’m at a loss.

I would sure appreciate some help here. Thanks in advance.

Start with wget and onward. Not the ~src$ part, which is just a UNIX prompt.

-Scott

of course… lack of sleep doesn’t help either :wink:

If I need ghostscript support, do I need to install that first? I included the “–with-gslib” line, but all the ghostscript options show “no” in the config report.

also, more importantly, I need tiff support, and that’s showing up as no:

Checking for TIFF support

checking tiff.h usability… no
checking tiff.h presence… no
checking for tiff.h… no
checking tiffio.h usability… no
checking tiffio.h presence… no
checking for tiffio.h… no
checking for TIFFOpen in -ltiff… no
checking for TIFFClientOpen in -ltiff… no
checking for TIFFIsByteSwapped in -ltiff… no
checking for TIFFReadRGBATile in -ltiff… no
checking for TIFFReadRGBAStrip in -ltiff… no
checking if TIFF package is complete… no

Is that something I have to install separately as well?

thanks!

wow, this is cryptic stuff…

OK, so I installed the tiff lib in $HOME/local successfully (I think), but I’m having trouble getting the ImageMagick configure script to find it and pass its tests.

I’ve managed to get part-way using this: