Gethostbyaddr

I piggy back on another domain and when they switched to Dreamhost, they had to change how my website was handled. It went from www.xxx.com/mywebsite to mywebsite.xxx.com. As a result of this the gethostbyaddr command in one of my web pages generates the following error:

Warning: gethostbyaddr() [function.gethostbyaddr]: Address is not a valid IPv4 or IPv6 address

Does anybody have any suggestions as to a solution.

Thanks.

I suspect the IP address has changed?

–rlparker

The short answer is yes, the IP address has changed.

The long answer is: I am a newbie at this, so please excuse my ingnorance. I did not write the code for this website nor am I familar with PHP, so I am not sure what the gethostbyaddr command is exactly for. However, I assumed the function was used so the website would work if the IP address changed. The website has been moved before and it continued to work fine.

That’s no problem, and there is no reason you need to be excused; we are all learning stuff here everyday! :slight_smile:

I don’t know what the author of the program was using the function for, so it is hard to guess exactly what he is doing with the value returned by the function without seeing the code.

It is possible that the problem you are having is the result of DreamHost running PHP-CGI (certain environment variables return different values that the author might have anticipated), and possible a simply code tweak could solve the problem.

Can you provide an excerpt of the relevant code surrounding the use of the function?

–rlparker

Thanks so much for taking the time to look at this.

The purpose of the code is to update another web page dynamically.

If you want to see it in action, go to stthaddaeus.etdiocese.net/news.php and click on the fleur-de-lis at the bottom of the page.

Here is the code (The error occurs in line 35 (the echo command) and keeps the code from executing, but the gethostbyaddr function is used several times):