I’m a beginner and in reading this forum, a lot of us including me could use a simple tutorial on the basic structureof the website ( all the ones I find are either too general or to complex or unfamiliar nomenclature and no pictures/diagrams on Google searches) of the root -what’s got to be in it, why and is it only accesible under password?
Is your website index.htm in that root or in a subdirectory in the root called “”. Is the index.htm in that directory and is it your home page or a pointer to the home page? and is it with the entire website in that directory?

How do basic subdomains work and how do they fit into this picture?

thanks for any answer or links to tutorials that are easy to understand and talk about these things and apply to our Dreamhost!

Your website goes into the subdirectory for the domain you want to use. If you only have one domain, then it’s If there’s an index.htm file, just replace it with your homepage file (naming it index.htm, or index.html, or index.php or whatever), and that will be your main website page. See the >DreamHost Knowledge Base for more info. You’ll also find info on subdomains there.