FTP to server lag?

Hi, sorry I’m a complete newbie to website development.

I use cyberduck FTP program to upload my files to the dreamhost (server?)

I uploaded my whole website, but when I view it on my browser nothing happens, I’ve reloaded my cache but still nothing.

I’ve confirmed on my ftp app and it’s there. I try to access the particular file on the website but it’s not there. Triple checked spelling and captions so i’m sure i didn’t make a mistake. Can anyone help?

could this be just some server lag, and will take a few hours to upload properly or something? Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance

There’s no lag. Your files belong in the “example.com” directory. If one is not there, it’s because of one of two things:

1. You haven’t set up your Fully Hosted domain
  2. You logged in as the wrong FTP user (as assigned for the Fully Hosted Domain)

Thanks for the reply Scott!

I’ve had my website up for over a year now and never had this problem before. I don’t think any of the mentioned solutions work.

I’ve tried deleting a file in the ftp program, then I access it through my browser, and it’s still there, even after emptying my cache?

Sometimes an ISP has a cache of the page, which is difficult to get around. What’s the URL, and what’s something I can look for to tell if it’s been updated?

it’s http://www.lazarophotography.com

that’s just odd since i’ve never had this problem before. It’s been a day already and it hasn’t updated.

You probably already have, but double-check that your ftp program is landing you at the root (HOME) folder of the correct user and that you can view and traverse the lazarophotography.com folder.

Next thing to think about would be if you’ve played about with any folder redirection settings in Panel so that the website is actually taking data from another user location on your server.