FTP access - allowing UL/DL to other users

Hi All-

I am a noob at FTP stuff - I have a basic understanding of how to UL/DL stuff to and from sites, etc.

I would like to be able to create a place in my domain that I can allow my clients to upload/download large files. I only want them to have access to a particular directory - I would give them the u/n and p/w when necessary. Any thoughts on how I can go about setting this up?

TIA.

cheeriokid

what you could do is create the directory with an ftp client then go in and password protect the directory then they will just need to know the password that would be the easiest what ftp client do you use if you could tell me that i could possibly help lol…

Thanks for the reply - I am currently using WSFTP, but I am certainly willing to change…

Unless I’m confused, shikonjewel’s method wont work.

Best bet is to setup a secondary web site. Make it a subodmain like files.example.com. Create a new user to run that domain. Give out that username/password.

Kbase article

You should be able to remap the subdir to point to a new users area.
Create FTP user, remap one of your domain’s folders to their user area. Problem is, you won’t be able to control what goes in/out through your own FTP. You’d have to start logging in with their FTP details.

But the best way might be to use a web based file manager. But there would be a 7mb limit.

decswxaqz, at last check remapping a sub-dir into another user’s directory has been disabled. I have several of those setup, went to do it again and was told I can’t do it anymore.

I’ve got four subdirectories aliased (“remapped”) into other users’ home directories right now. I just looked at the remapping panel and the drop-down list to choose user directory is still available.

Not allowing aliases to other users kind of defeats the purpose. I doubt they’d remove this functionality. There’s no reason not to allow it.

If You Want Useful Replies, Ask Smart Questions

Hi all