Forwarding to AOL and Comcast emails

I’m new to DH and I’m setting up my account before I switch DNS.

Part of what I’m doing is forwarding email addresses to people in my organization. Some of these people have aol.com and comcast.net email addresses. But when I try to forward to them, DH comes back and says DH doesn’t forward to these domains.

Does anyone know why this is?

And if I set up a list, will I be unable to add people who have aol.com and comcast.net addresses?

Solutions or workarounds appreciated. Thanks in advance.
-steve

There is some historical information about this on the DreamHost Status Blog:

http://www.dreamhoststatus.com/2006/08/22/aol-forwards-to-be-disabled/

http://www.dreamhoststatus.com/2006/08/30/comcast-forwards-to-be-disabled-and-aol-update/

Yes, but as with any email service, adding them to the list doesn’t necessarily mean the email will be accepted. Welcome to the email world left to us by spammers! :confused:

–rlparker
–DreamHost Tech Support

Thank you for that information.

These have issues occurred over 3 years ago. Since then there have been many changes to detection and handling of email spam. Is there any possibility that DH will re-visit this?

Email forwarding and list management is an important part of our need for hosting. Many of our members have aol and comcast addresses thus our need to forward to them and others. Because of this policy we have either: not to include those members (not an option), or to tell our users to change their email provider, or to consider other alternatives including alternative hosting options. It is also not easy for a member who has been using aol or comcast for many years to switch to another email provider, and to stay in business we cannot place this requirement on them.

Other hosting providers do not place a limit on forwarding, contact me off-list to discuss.