Form Validation Help..., Trying to stop spammers

Hello, this is my first post to this board. Thank you all for being here. Here is my question:

Within my html form, I would like to include a question that must be answered correctly in order for the form to be submitted. The purpose of the form is for musicians and artists to submit details of upcoming performances (venue name, date, time, etc.). Now since I’ve been getting a lot of spam through this, I’ve included the question of “Venue City?” Since my service only lists events in the city of Alexandria, VA, I want the field to only contain “Alexandria” to be successful. Other fields are also required, but not a specific entry. I’ve spent quite a few hours today searching Google for a solution with no luck. Keep in mind I’m not a professional programmer/coder. Is there a solution? Thanks in advance. ~John

Here is the link to that form: http://www.alexandrialive.com/submit.html

Within the website: http://www.alexandrialive.com

There is no “solution” so to speak, its kinda like stopping graffiti. You can just make it harder and not worth the effort.

For example, if you keep track of when you show the form and when it is submitted, you can rule out form submissions that have too short or to long of an elapsed time.

Change the URL and form parameters frequently. I still get spam hits for a form whose URL doesn’t exist anymore.

Spam bots do not request images, CSS and JavaScript files.

:cool: openvein.org -//- One-time [color=#6600CC]$50.00 discount[/color] on [color=#0000CC]DreamHost[/color] plans: Use ATROPOS7