First Webpage - help!

Hullo!
This is my first time making a website, and I’m completely clueless, doing this as I go along. I guess you could say i’m a webdesign virgin. I’ve made my pages off line in html, saved as txt files, and uploaded them using the dreamhost onle ftp. And I have absolutely no idea what to do next or how to make it visible online. Any help would be fab.
Thanks!
Ginger

1. We should make sure that you’ve got everything squared away with your domain registration and the adding of that domain into the DreamHost hosting service. If you let us know what you’ve done in that area, it would be helpful in figuring out if all that got done correctly.
  2. Did you name your homepage file index.html?

Another thing you should consider if you don’t want to bother with learning html is to use the WordPress one-click install from the control panel. It’s an application that let’s you create a basic website without knowing anything about html. It’s meant for blogging, but you can use it to create a simple website.

[edited a grammatical error]

Free unique IP and $67 off with code [color=#CC0000]LMIP67[/color] or use [color=#CC0000]LM97[/color] for $97 off. Click for other Dreamhost coupons / promo codes

aawe, that would of helped alot. oh well, i’ve got it all html for now. Can I edit in WordPress later?
I think the domain is all set. I bought the name in August, but just now was able to start in on some creation.
Where do I create the index.html file? in my domain name directory or somewhere else?(i’m sorry, I’ve really never done this before)

Go to wordpress.com and you can see a whole bunch of examples of sites people have built using WordPress. You’ll find that the majority are blogs, but you should get an idea of what kind of site functionality you can get out of the box.