File structure that supports multiple projects

Hello!

I’m new to dreamhost and would like to know an ideal file structure that supports multiple projects. Here is a description of what I want:

I want to be able to host multiple web projects. Every project should be able to get it’s own subdomain. I also want every project to be able to in a subversion repository (I’m not sure if every project should have it’s own repository or if multiple projects can share one). I also want to be able to use bugzilla/trac (can they manage multiple projects?).

(Sidenote: Is it still as hard to install Trac here on dreamhost as it seems by the wiki article?)

I thought it would be good to get a good file structure from the beginning so I don’t create a mess.

When I connect to my acount through ssh I’m inside my home directory: ~/

I guess I need a folder for every domain, for every subversion repository and for every bugzilla/trac (if I can’t manage multiple projects with one and the same).

Should I have like:

~/project1/
~/project1/svn/
~/project1/bugzilla/ or ~/project1/trac/
~/project2/
~/project2/svn/
~/project2/bugzilla/ or ~/project2/trac/

etc…?

or

~/projects/
~/projects/project1/
~/projects/project2/
~/svn/project1/
~/svn/project2/
~/bugzilla/project1/
~/bugzilla/project2/

etc…?

Any ideas or other tips related to this?

Also if someone would also say how a ruby on rails project would fit in the file structure please add a sidenote about it :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance!

Hope you made it all the way down here =)

Martin Lundberg
Student, Sweden

Dreamhost’s default setup places all domains and subdomains in the top-level of your home directory, but this can be changed when you add the domains or at any time after. These folders are the DocumentRoots for your domains.