Ffmpeg LAME libfaac libfaad

apps

Hello,

I have compiled FFmpeg with no problem using the instructions on the wiki : http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/FFmpeg

But I would like to know if there is a tutorial to compile FFmpeg with the LAME, libfaac and libfaad library on a dreamhost user account.

I’m new to compilation, and after the LAME installation (./configure --prefix=$HOME) I can’t compile FFmpeg properly using the --enable-mp3lame (can’t find the library I supose).

So any hints wil be very helpfull !

thanks,

Bertrand

Hi Bertrand,

I had a difficult time setting this up myself but I think I finally got a working version that can puke out an flv with audio using ffmpeg and lame. Let me preface the fact that i’m pretty clueless when it comes to compiling. I searched for a couple days, came up with bits and pieces and after quite a few compiles, actually I lost count, I got one that worked for me.

You’ve obviously got ffmpeg installed:
http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/FFmpeg

clean the make for ffmpeg (make clean), and delete all the files that were created, or just wipe everything and start fresh.

I created a folder on root that would house everything for both lame and ffmpeg called “fmpeg”. Hopefully this won’t make things confusing.

(replace username where necessary)
install lame to ‘fmpeg’ folder:
i just uploaded the tar and extracted it to a folder called “lame”.
cd to “lame” folder
./configure --prefix=/home/username/fmpeg --disable-shared
make
make install

cd to ffmpeg folder and install to ‘fmpeg’ folder and configure with lame:
./configure --enable-mp3lame --prefix=/home/username/fmpeg --extra-cflags=-I/home/username/fmpeg/include --extra-ldflags=-L/home/username/fmpeg/lib
make
make install

from what I gather cflags and ldflags are pointers to the lame include and library files that are needed.