Extremely Slow WordPress Site, Exclusively with DreamHost – VPS Hosted

vps
wordpress

Hello DreamHost,

I am posting this here as I have had numerous discussion with both the support staff and a number of DreamHost members. I have yet to find any sort of solution to this issue – an issue exclusive to DreamHost. This problem needs to be addressed – now.

I have been using and working with WordPress for about 8 years now. I started on DreamHost’s Shared Hosting platform – a great server for beginners. However, one thing that always frustrated me was how slowly the WordPress platform was able to run on these servers. I always stayed loyal to DreamHost, nonetheless. For all of the client work I did, whether it be building a simple company website or building an eCommerce platform, I always used DreamHost + WordPress.

After about 3 years of dealing with extremely slow load times – essentially setting my work pace at a third of the speed I can regularly work – I decided to switch to DreamHost’s VPS service. I did a few PHP/JavaScript web apps and was delighted to see quicker load times, as well as more overall control of my server.

However, upon installing WordPress, even the freshly installed, blank canvas of a platform – with one theme and zero plugins installed – it was taking 10+ seconds to load. After adding a premium theme and a few plugins that were required for this specific site setup, we’re back to where we started. The WordPress platform was, once again, taking an average of 15-30 seconds to load. After waiting and working, waiting and working, etc., I was finally able to add my normal cache plugins that, at the very least, was able to make the frontend of the site run somewhat quickly. New visitors of the site took around 4-6 seconds to load the homepage, while the admin panel still took 15-30 seconds per page.

I have tried everything:

• Different themes
  • Different & alternative plugins
  • Maximizing PHP power (phprc and wpconfig)