Existing customer asks about Google Apps

I’ve got a site hosted here and recently added another domain pointing to my account. Just to experiment I was going to set it up with Google Apps but I’m very confused by exactly what this implies. I’ve read the wiki page (http://wiki.dreamhost.com/Google_Apps) but I still don’t get it. I’m a developer and I use the Google APIs and eat Google for lunch, but the relationship between DH and BigG is confusing.

I’m not sure these are the right questions but if I can get these answers and do something with the new domain then I’ll update the wiki with my experience:

1. Why link a DH account to Google Apps? Tools for building web pages?
  2. What is DH doing if Google is providing apps or even hosting HTTP/email accounts?
  3. Is Google GMail and better or worse than DH servers? (SMTP, POP3, and IMAP)
  4. Is there any hint with mail sent from myextradomain.com that mail is going through GMail? I have some colleagues that once in a while get their mail bounced back to me and I tease them about getting a “real” email server. By the way, we don’t use DH email now, we’ve been using everyone.net for a few years with absolutely Zero headaches, having come from a non-DH provider that gave me anxiety pains with every service.
  5. How transparent is www.mydomain.com from googlesubdomains.mydomain.com? Can we customize the app UI to match our themes?
  6. Is it any easier to use Google API tools from a DH server than from any other host, OS, etc?

What am I not asking that I should? Again, I just don’t get it. Sorry - and thanks!

1. Google is cool and people may have a want or need to use Google Hosting. Since DH registers and hosts domains, it’s easy for DH to tweak DNS to point to Google Apps.

2. DH is providing your DNS.

3. Better and worse email is subjective. Gmail is pretty slick, but you lose some privacy. DH doesn’t mine your data in order to serve you ads.