Exisiting site to become wordpress, but need test site for now

wordpress

Hello -
I have a site hosted with DreamHost that I designed using adobe muse: www.rosegreenstein.com

I would now like to redesign it using wordpress with a theme that I have bought. I would like to keep my existing site up and running while I work on the new wordpress version of it.

As a graphic designer, I have only limited experience with all of this. A few months ago I designed a site for a customer. I installed wordpress on my local machine and was eventually able to get it up and running, (on their previously purchased godaddy hosting) but godaddy had to do a lot of stuff to get it working, of which I have no idea how to replicate.

So I would like to design my new site NOT on my local machine. I have been looking through this forum and came across these links, but I’m not 100% they are applicable to me, since it was for a site being migrated from another host:

Since this is not my area of expertise, I need a little hand holding. Do I create a mirrored site? A test site? Any and all help will be much appreciated. And since I currently do not have a fulltime job, I am hoping to not have to pay extra money for the dreampress hosting…

Thanks very much,
Rose

Here’s what you want to do:

1 - go to manage domains in the panel and create a sub-domain (fully hosted) such has dev.example.com, be certain to set the USER to the same user for your existing site.

2 - OPTIONAL: if want to restrict access, go to goodies > htaccess/WEBdav in the panel, fill out the form there which is mostly self-explanatory-- don’t check the WEBdav box tho, that is something else. Also you probably only need one user, this isn’t for added security its just to keep nosy people and search bots (such as google) away from your site while it’s under development.