Exceeded maximum IMAP connections?

My IMAP client (Thunderbird) is configured for 7 email accounts hosted by DH, all IMAP, and all on the same domain. I set them all to “connect on startup” but I get this error:

screen shot

In short, it is saying that it is unable to connect to my IMAP server because I have exceeded the maximum number of connections. It says I can change the number of cached connections within Thunderbird to fix the problem.

What is the easiest way to fix this problem? I am new to IMAP, I used to use POP3 for everything. What number of cached connections should I tell Thunderbird?

I have a few domains hosted with DH, and one of them has been having IMAP problems for the past couple of days - been seeing that error with local client apps as well as webmail.

I have been having the same problem for the past couple of days and filed a support ticket this morning. I just got a reply saying that they have found an issue with the load balancer and are working to get it resolved ASAP.

Tony,

I was considering hair implants but I will ask my dermatologist about load balancing the next time I see her.

I hope this issue gets resolved soon. I was thinking it was because I added an extra email account. Thanks for the help.

I am not sure if it is related, but when trying to use webmail I get ocasionally:

ERROR: Connection dropped by IMAP server.

Notice that this does not happen always (sometimes it works), but it happens a lot of times.

Also notice, it happens from within the webmail, not in a email client using IMAP.

Do you think it is related to the load balancing problem?

i am also getting a lot of

ERROR:
ERROR: Connection dropped by IMAP server.

how can i fix it?

Use the coupon code [color=#CC0000]FIVEZEROOFF[/color] when signing up to Dreamhost for an instant [color=#CC0000]$50 off[/color]!

Me too. Been happening so frequently that it has me disappointed…

Seems like the IMAP servers are under pressure.