Error Installing Nagios Server on VPS

I’m trying to install a Nagios server on my VPS to monitor my home network and a couple of servers which need to be up and running. I found forum messages about running the Nagios client on a VPS but not an actual Nagios server.

I’m new to the Dreamhost VPS service but not a noob with Linux. I’m running into an error installing Nagios and below is the output of my apt-get process. I’m not clear what the issue is.

Has anyone installed a Nagios server on a VPS successfully? If so, any ideas on what is giving me these errors? Can this even be done on a VPS? FYI, I’m running the Dreamhost provided Apache web server.

[psXXXXX]$ sudo apt-get install nagios3
[sudo] password for XXXXXXXX:
Reading package lists… Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information… Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
nagios-plugins nagios-plugins-basic nagios-plugins-standard nagios3-common
Recommended packages:
apache2 httpd
The following NEW packages will be installed:
nagios-plugins nagios-plugins-basic nagios-plugins-standard nagios3 nagios3-common
0 upgraded, 5 newly installed, 0 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/2683kB of archives.
After this operation, 7520kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? Y
WARNING: The following packages cannot be authenticated!
nagios-plugins-basic nagios3-common nagios3 nagios-plugins-standard nagios-plugins
Authentication warning overridden.
Preconfiguring packages …
Can’t exec “/tmp/nagios3-common.config.310051”: Permission denied at /usr/share/perl/5.10/IPC/Open3.pm line 168.
open2: exec of /tmp/nagios3-common.config.310051 configure failed at /usr/share/perl5/Debconf/ConfModule.pm line 59
nagios3-common failed to preconfigure, with exit status 255
(Reading database … 244216 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking nagios-plugins-basic (from …/nagios-plugins-basic_1.4.12-5_amd64.deb) …